Skip to main content

Breakout Rooms (Provider)

Last updated

Beginning a Breakout Session

Accessing the Breakout Session Tab

There are two ways to access the breakout session tab

From the People Button in the System Tray

  1. Hover over the People button



  2. Select Breakout Groups

From the People Tab

  1. Click the People button



  2. From the People window click the Breakout Groups button

Adding or Removing Breakout Groups

When creating a breakout session you can create at minimum 2 and up to 20 groups.

This can be set from the breakout tab by selecting a different value from the dropdown:

Renaming a Breakout Group

From the breakout tab you can rename a breakout group by taking these steps:

By double clicking the group name

or by clicking on the three dots beside the group name and selecting Rename Group

 

Managing Breakout Room Members

Prior to starting a breakout room you can assign participants to groups manually by dragging their names to the appropriate group.



Having the system automatically assign them by clicking Assign All or Shuffle

Breakout Settings

From the Breakout panel you can access the settings by clicking the gear icon beside Start Breakout Session.

 

From here you can toggle if:

  • Participants can choose their groups (on by default)
  • Automatically participants into their groups after 'x' seconds
  • Once the breakout session ends, move everyone back into the main room after 'x' seconds
  • Set a timer to automatically end the breakout session

After making your selections click save.

Starting a Breakout Session

Once all breakout groups have been filled and correctly named the breakout session can be created by clicking Start breakout session

 

Joining a Breakout Room

When assigned to a breakout room, you will receive a notification inviting you to join a specific group.

Clicking Enter Group will bring you to the breakout session or Dismiss will ignore the invite.

Alternatively, when a breakout session is started, all groups will be listed allowing you to join your assigned group directly by clicking Enter Group.

or switch groups by clicking Switch Group.

Broadcasting Messages to All Groups

Broadcasting a message

To broadcast a message to all groups please take the following steps:

  1. Hover over the Chat button on the system tray
  2. Check the Broadcast to all Groups



  3. Enter the desired message



  4. Click Send

Broadcasting your Audio

To broadcast a voice message, take the following steps:

  1. Leave the breakout room by clicking the back button in the upper left of the screen beside the group name



  2. Click Go on Stage

To stop broadcasting your audio to all groups click Get off Stage

Leaving a Breakout Room

You can take the following steps to leave your breakout room and enter the main session:

  1. Click the back button in the upper left of the screen beside the group name



  2. This will bring you back to the main session

Ending a Breakout Room

The breakout session can be ended two ways:

Note: All cameras and microphones will be muted/turned off after the breakout session is ended

Through the System Tray

  1. Hover over People



  2. Click End breakout session


Through the People Tab

  1. Click on the People button 



  2. Click End

Was this article helpful?